Nevada marijuana laws have been debated for several years, so you might be left wondering, “Is weed legal in Las Vegas?”. The short answer is yes; both recreational and medical marijuana is legal in Nevada.
Nevada Marijuana Possession
For recreational use in Nevada, adults 21 years and older can possess weed according to Nevada marijuana laws. The legal amount for recreational possession is up to 1 ounce of cannabis flower, edibles or topicals, and 0.125 ounces of marijuana concentrate. Adults 21 years and older can also grow up to six plants per person or 12 plants per household as long as they live more than 25 miles from a licensed dispensary.
If you are found in possession of more than one ounce of recreational marijuana, it is a misdemeanor crime with a fine of up to $600. If you are found in possession or use in public, it is also a misdemeanor crime with a fine of up to $600. If you find yourself being charged, contact a drug crimes attorney in Las Vegas right away to get the best outcome for your case.
For medical use, patients and caregivers who are 18 years or older can possess marijuana. The legal amount for medical marijuana is 2.5 ounces per 14-day period for cannabis flower, edibles, or topicals, and 2.5 ounces per 14-day period for concentrates.
Purchasing Marijuana Legally
Now that you know the possession laws, you might be asking, “How do you purchase legal marijuana in Las Vegas?”.
According to Nevada marijuana laws, adults 21 years or older and anyone 18 years or older with a valid medical marijuana card can purchase weed from licensed dispensaries in Nevada.
Where to Consume Weed in Nevada
Marijuana is only legal to consume on private property with approval from the property owner. Weed is illegal to use in public, on federal land, and in a vehicle.
Most hotels and casinos do not permit marijuana consumption, although there has been some discussion about opening social lounges and resorts in Las Vegas for marijuana consumption.
Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana
It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana and the first offense could result in required substance abuse classes, fines, community service, or even jail time. Law enforcement officials will determine if you are under the influence by requesting a field sobriety test, urine sample, or blood sample.
For the first offense, driving under the influence of marijuana results in a misdemeanor offense and the following penalties.
- Complete a required course on the abuse of alcohol and controlled substances
- Spend between two days and six months in jail or between 48 and 96 hours doing community service
- Pay a fine of $400–1000
For the second offense within seven years, driving under the influence of marijuana results in a misdemeanor offense and the following penalties.
- Attend a treatment program for the abuse of drugs
- Spend between 10 days and six months in jail
- Pay a fine of $750–1000 or complete an equivalent number of community service hours
For the third offense within seven years, driving under the influence of marijuana results in a Class B Felony and the following penalties.
- Spend 1–6 years in prison
- Pay a fine of $2,000–5,000
When transporting marijuana in a vehicle, make sure it is in a sealed container away from the driver and any minor passengers. Taking marijuana across state lines is also illegal.
Medical Marijuana Program
Nevada marijuana laws allow for qualifying individuals to obtain a medical marijuana license. This requires a recommendation from a certified physician. The patient also must have a chronic or debilitating medical condition that may be mitigated with medical marijuana. The registration fee for the Medical Marijuana Program is $50 for one year or $100 for two years.
Adults with a valid medical marijuana card that was issued in their home state can purchase legal medical marijuana in Nevada. These visitors must follow all of Nevada’s marijuana laws even if they differ from the laws in their home state. Nevada authorities also must be able to access the database of registered users in the visitor’s state. If you aren’t sure if your medical card is accepted in Nevada, call ahead to be certain.
The laws surrounding legal marijuana in Las Vegas began in 2000 when The medical Use of Marijuana Act (Question 9) was approved by voters in Nevada. The sale of medical marijuana took place in 2015, and Nevada recreational weed laws went into effect in 2017 after the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act (Question 2) was passed.
Understanding Nevada marijuana laws is essential to make sure you’re on the right side of the law. If you find yourself charged for drug offenses in Las Vegas, contact our team of expert lawyers.