What Happens if You Leave the Scene of an Accident in Nevada?
If you have a driver’s license in the state of Nevada, you are legally obligated to adhere to the rules and regulations of the road. After an automobile accident, you are required to remain present at the accident until released by law enforcement or until you have exchanged information with the other driver. If you choose to leave the scene of the accident, you could face the harsh penalties of a hit and run incident – even if the collision was not your fault.
The Duty to Render Aid
Under NRS 484E.030, all drivers in a collision have a legal duty to render reasonable aid – such as calling 911, helping a victim from their vehicle, etc. Any time an accident occurs that results in injury, property damage or death, a Nevada driver is required to stop and exchange the following information:
- Vehicle registration information
- Driver’s license information
Drivers are also required to provide this information to police officers investigating the scene. Neglecting to do any of this could result in a misdemeanor or felony charge, depending on if there were injuries present at the accident.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident
The penalties will depend on the circumstances of the accident. However, some of the penalties you could face for leaving the scene include:
- Misdemeanor Hit and Run – NRS 484E.020. This occurs when there is property damage and you flee the scene of the accident. Penalties for this offense include up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and up to six demerit points on your driver’s license.
- Felony Hit and Run – NRS 484E.010. This is when death or bodily injury occurs and you leave the scene. The penalties are much harsher for this offense and include two to 15 years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, and a possible license suspension or permanent revocation.
Duty to File an Accident Report
Under NRS 484E.030 and associated sections, all drivers in Nevada are required to notify the police of an accident if it results in death, bodily injury, or property damage that is likely to cost more than $750.
Failure to File or Filing a False Police Report
If you fail to file an accident report or falsify information on that report, you could face up to one year license suspension or gross misdemeanor charges that include up to 364 days in jail, as well as fines up to $2,000.
Contact a Defense Attorney if You Are Being Charged with Fleeing the Scene
If you are being arrested or questioned for fleeing the scene of an accident, you need a skilled defense attorney by your side. Contact the attorneys at De Castroverde Law Group today for a consultation at 702-222-9999 or fill out an online contact form with your questions.