Nevada Car Accident and Safety Guide
We’ve seen it. And maybe you have, too.
Car accidents can be as costly as they are painful. Injuries take a long time to heal. Car repairs can come with major bills.
If you want to do everything you can to avoid a crash or another crash you’re not alone. And there’s plenty that you can do to protect yourself and drive safely.
You can purchase a good insurance plan. Buy a safe car. Enjoy beautiful drives in Nevada and explore them safely. Understand what to do if an accident happens and when to get a Las Vegas car accident lawyer’s help.
In this guide, you’ll learn everything you need to know about car accidents, safety, and steps to take after a crash.
- Driving a Car in Nevada: The Basics
- Driving a Car in Nevada: The Laws
- Driving a Car in Nevada: The Best Drives in the State
- Driving a Car in Nevada: Auto Insurance
- Driving a Car in Nevada: Safety First
- Driving a Car in Nevada: Breaking Down the Numbers
- What Happens if I Get in a Car Accident?
- Injured in a Car Accident: What Do I Do?
- Car Accident Resulting in Death: What Do I Do?
- Frequently Asked Questions: Nevada Car Accidents
- Hire a Car Accident Lawyer in Nevada
Call De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers at to learn more about how we can help you.
Driving a Car in Nevada: The Basics
Whether you just moved to Nevada, need to renew or update a license, or you’re a new driver, you should know a few things about getting a license and a car in Nevada. Let’s review the basics.
Do I Need a Driver’s License in Nevada?
Yes. No matter where you are or why you’re on the road, you need a license. Here’s how to get one:
It’s a multi-step process to get your license for the first time and expect to make two trips to the DMV to complete them.
First, you’ll need to sign up for a driver’s education course. (More details on what to expect from training courses follow in the next section.) Then, your first stop at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will help you get an instruction permit. Drivers have to be at least 15 ½ to qualify. You should make an appointment before heading over. There, you’ll pass a vision test and a knowledge test, which ask you 25 multiple-choice questions about driving basics. You’ll pay $22.25 in licensing fees and $25 in testing fees.
So, now you can get out on the road. But now, you’ll need to complete your Beginning Driver Experience Log. This log keeps track of your 50 supervised driving hours.
Remember to fill this out in blue or black ink. Once you finish the driver’s ed course and have your log book filled out, you’re ready to go to the DMV for visit number two: the road test. To do so, you’ve got to be at least 16 and show you’ve driven using an instruction permit for six months. Again, book an appointment in advance, as these are special types of visits.
For the road test, bring a car that’s registered and insured. Plan to follow a test examiner’s basic instructions for where to drive and demonstrate the driving skills you’ve learned.
To get your full license, you’ll need to go back to the DMV. Be ready to show proof of your Nevada residency and identity. The DMV explains which documents you need, including proof of a Social Security number, one of several types of documents that can prove your identity (such as a birth certificate), and proof of where you live in Nevada.
And you’ll need to show that you successfully took a driver’s education course and present a Certificate of Completion. More details on that in the next section.
License Transfers and Renewal
Getting a transfer or a renewal is simpler than getting your license for the first time. When you move to Nevada, you can make a one-time visit to the DMV to get your license and registration transferred.
You’ll need five documents: your old license, an ID application, proof of residency (two pieces of proof), proof of a Social Security number, and proof of identity. The DMV explains which documents work for these purposes.
Renewing your license can be painless. Usually, you can take care of a renewal online. Update your address, and complete other details the DMV requires. Then, you’ll get your license in the mail.
You’ll have to go in person to renew if you’ve had several moving violations in recent years or if you’re 71 or over, among other reasons.
There’s a lot to know if you want to be a safe driver.You’ll learn about following distances. Safe speeds. Who has the right of way in various situations. Nevada’s roadway laws.
But no one expects that you should know all this without learning and practicing driving skills first. Read on to find out what training you need to get your driver’s license.
Training for New Drivers Under 18
Get drivers education training in one of three ways:
If you want to drive and you’re under 18, you’ve got to go to school. You can satisfy your driver training course requirement by going in person to a DMV-approved school. But don’t expect to get on the road immediately. Get ready for 30 hours of classroom time, where you’ll learn all the basics of being on the roads in Nevada.
Driver’s ed classes are also offered online, too. Just be sure you find a DMV-approved school before signing up and paying the course fees. Also, the state knows that some people may not be within 30 miles of a DMV-approved school, or they may not have internet access. That’s where they’ll get an exception.
If you’re in this situation, you can get 100 hours of behind-the-wheel training instead. If so, you can get the training you need by spending time on the road. Ten hours of this 100 should be completed at night.
Get an instruction permit and log 50 hours of supervised time on the road as a driver
You’re almost ready to get on the road and practice your new skills. But first, you’ll need to visit the DMV to get an instruction permit.
At the DMV, you’ll need to pass a few tests before getting your permit. Be ready to show what you’ve learned through a knowledge test of Nevada traffic laws and road rules.
You’ll also need to take a vision test. Drivers 15 ½ years old and over can get their instruction permit.
For your supervised road time, you should be with a licensed driver over 21 who has at least one year of driving experience. And they can’t just be a back seat driver. They should sit next to you in the passenger seat to help you navigate the roads.
Logging supervised driving time can be simple. You can use an app called RoadReady, which helps you keep track of your road hours and meet your driving goals.
Remember: Riding as a new driver on a permit doesn’t come with full privileges, so keep a couple of other restrictions in mind.
Drivers under 18 can’t have passengers in a car for their first six months on the road unless they’re family. Also, you won’t be able to drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless you’re getting to or from a scheduled event. Depending on where you live, you may need to follow other local curfew laws.
Take the driving test. As mentioned in the previous section, you’ll schedule your road test at the DMV. Expect to sit with an examiner in the vehicle, who will watch to see how you handle basic roadway situations. Once you pass this test, you can apply for a full license. Review the details above ongetting a first-time license in Nevada to find out how.
Training for Adult Drivers
You don’t have to take a driver’s education class if you’re over 18. But you do need to show that you know how to drive.
At the DMV, you’ll need to pass a vision test, written test, and skills test. The written test asks you questions about traffic laws, the meaning of roadway signs, and other driving basics.
For the skills test, bring a vehicle that’s registered, insured, and in good working condition to drive. You’ll be tested on your ability to drive safely, including controlling the car, using lanes properly, braking, and handling other traffic situations.
Taking all of these tests will be $25.
What to Know When Buying a Car in Nevada
It’s true. Buying a car especially a used one can leave you overwhelmed.
You’re setting a budget and searching for a car in your price range. You’re researching safe models. You’re wondering if you should trust a private seller or shell out for dealer fees.
We know: It’s a lot. But don’t feel frozen by all the to-do’s and unknowns. Keep these tips in mind to simplify the process of buying a new or used car.
Be Observant During the Test Drive
Here’s what you don’t want to do: Skip the test drive.
Maybe you’re trying to snag the car before other buyers or don’t feel like the hassle of arranging a test drive. But that can be a costly choice.
During the first drive, you’ll have the chance to see and feel how the car performs. Is there a squeaking sound when you brake? Or is the car trying to drive you to the right, showing signs of pulling?
You shouldn’t hear or feel concerning issues like these and if you do, ask questions about the vehicle’s history. Unless you’re mechanically skilled or know someone who is, pass over a car that doesn’t drive safely and smoothly on a first drive.
Think About Safety Features
Sure, it’s important to get a comfortable car that suits your tastes. But when you’re doing your research on a good car model, don’t forget to think about its safety.
There’s size and weight to consider here. After all, the smallest, lightest cars are less likely to protect passengers inside during a crash. Bigger, heavier cars are often more resilient during a crash, absorbing more of the force of the accident.
You can research the car’s crash rating in a database the National Highway Traffic Association (NHTSA) maintains.
Also, think about safety features. Cars that come with backup cameras, lane-keeping assistance, and other advanced driver assistance features can come in handy. (Insurance Information Institute (III))
Research the Car’s Reliability
You’ll want to have a sense of what you could expect over the long term. In other words, check out what people say about the car’s reliability.
If it’s a hybrid, might it need a battery replaced sooner rather than later? Does it tend to have a long life where you could expect 150,000 miles-plus out of the car?
Other owners of this model offer a good source of info or purchase a Consumer Reports membership to get their reviews and reliability scores.
Check the Carfax or AutoCheck Report
When you’re buying used, you don’t have to guess about the vehicle’s history.
A dealer may give you the Carfax or AutoCheck report, which details how many owners the car’s had, when it was serviced, and whether it’s been in any accidents. That way, if you hear concerning sounds from the engine and the Carfax reveals an accident six months ago, you can put two and two together.
Buying these reports yourself is a good choice if the dealer or seller won’t provide them.
You’ll pay $25 for an AutoCheck report and $40 for a Carfax.
Get an Inspection
Even if you have the Carfax in hand and everything looks good, don’t trust that report alone to indicate whether the car’s in good shape.
After all, some accidents don’t get reported to police so the car could’ve been hit without a record on the Carfax. Or maybe the car was in a flood, which also wouldn’t show up on the history report.
So: Take the car to a trusted mechanic for an inspection. Used car dealers typically also offer their own inspection services, which you could take advantage of.
Look at the Recalls That Could Affect the Car
It happens. Recalls are not uncommon, and your car could be affected. Check the NHTSA’s recall listings to see if the cars you’re interested in have any open recalls.
You’ll need to get the vehicle’s VIN number first. Ask the seller for details or check thecar’s windshield on the lower left if you can.
Choosing a Car: Models and Options
Big SUVs, compact cars, hatchbacks. You may like the look and features of a certain car type, but you may want to think about practical concerns, too.
Here’s what to think about when choosing the model for you.
Types of Cars: An Overview
A sedan is what many people think of when they imagine a passenger vehicle. This is a four-door car with a traditional trunk. These cars range substantially in size. If you’re looking for maximum fuel economy, check out compact or even subcompact sedans. Think the Honda Civic or Chevy Spark. For a more spacious interior and better crash performance, consider mid-size and full-size sedans like the Ford Fusion or Toyota Avalon.
SUVs typically offer more ground clearance and great access to cargo from a rear hatch door. Compared to sedans, they’re also often taller and more square in shape. You might want an SUV if you’re looking to take the car both to work and on outdoor adventures. SUVs can be popular, like the Toyota Highlander or Jeep Grand Cherokee and sometimes difficult to find on a budget in a tight used car market.
When you think of a hatchback, you probably picture a steep-sloped trunk with a flip lid. This is the main feature of a hatchback, which offers practicality and good cargo access. However, bear in mind that these cars can come in a variety of shapes and sizes. From the subcompact Chevy Bolt EV to the spacious Honda Civic hatchback, buyers have plenty of options.
Pickup trucks like the Ford F-150 or the Ram 1500 offer the ultimate hauling capacity. If you need a car to pull a boat or carry heavy goods in the truck bed, a pickup could be the vehicle for you. Trucks can come with two or four doors and space for up to five passengers. However, remember that many trucks can come with a higher gas bill if you’re thinking about prices at the pump.
Not surprisingly, minivans can also do their fair share of hauling. While minivans are known for carrying lots of passengers, you can also remove the seats of a minivan to carry cargo. The versatility and practicality of a minivan make them a great family vehicle. Plus, many minivans deliver good gas mileage. Some of the top-rated minivans include the Honda Odyssey and Chrysler Pacifica.
The list doesn’t stop here. You may also consider station wagons, like the Subaru Outback. For a sportier choice, look at two-door coupes or sports cars like the Honda Civic Coupe or the Ford Mustang.
Think Through All Your Options
As with any major investment, it pays to think it over.
If you see a car for sale by an owner that catches your eye, great call the owner and check it out for a test drive. Or if a friend gives you a tip that their dad is selling the family car, that’s great to know. But don’t go for the first option available before you do your research.
Car buying can easily come with lots of pressure. Whether from used car dealers or well-meaning friends, you might feel like you don’t have much choice to think things over or even say no.
When you’re looking to buy a new or used car, compare prices and offers. If you want to go through a dealer, check out the same vehicle at different dealers. Let them know if you’ve found a more competitive price on a comparable listing and see if they’re willing to negotiate.
Also, research and compare possible models using online tools. Carfax offers a used car listings portal, which can help you determine if a car’s price is fair.
Driving a Car in Nevada: The Laws
Roadway laws aim to keep you and others safe. If you’re a new resident in Nevada, a new driver, or just brushing up on your roadway knowledge, take a look at these basic laws Nevada drivers should know.
Putting on a seatbelt can feel restricting. You may not see the need for it, especially if you’re just going down the street on a quick errand.
Still, it doesn’t matter where you are or what you’re doing. NRS § 484D.495 says that you have to wear a seatbelt if you’re in a car. That goes for both drivers and passengers. Front and back seats.
But you won’t get pulled over just for not wearing a seatbelt. If police stop you for something else like a broken tail light or speeding then you can also get a citation for failing to wear your belt. The fines start at $25.
You might be tempted to risk it and go without the belt. However, all the data says you shouldn’t.
Simply put, wearing a seat belt dramatically reduces the odds that a crash will be fatal. The NHTSA says that 51% of people killed in 2020 traffic accidents weren’t wearing a belt. For those in the front seat, you can lower your chances of dying in an accident by 45% if you buckle up.
And because traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for Nevadans between 1 and 54 years old, that means wearing a seat belt is all the more crucial. Of the 176 people who passed away in Nevada crashes in 2015, almost half weren’t wearing their belts.
Kids and Seatbelts
Exceptions apply only to children, who should be in age-specific restraint systems. Kids under six years of age or under 57” tall should be buckled up in a specific restraint seat, depending on their age and height.
The NHTSA gives these guidelines when buying a booster or car seat:
- Keep your child in a rear-facing car seat for as long as possible or until three years of age.
- Using a forward-facing seat is okay for children ages one to seven.
- Booster seats are appropriate for children ages four to twelve.
If you’re not sure about what type of restraint to use for a child or if they outgrew their current seating, refer to the manufacturer’s instructions.
Texting and Driving
It’s true: Smartphones can help you out on the roads. You may rely on a phone for navigation. Maybe you use a driving safety app, or you might play music to enjoy the drive.
That’s fine but you need to set those things up before you start driving, or ask a passenger to help you plug in an address on Google Maps. NRS § 484B.165 says that you can’t type or text on your phone while behind the wheel.
So, that means you can’t respond to text messages, type a song’s name into Spotify, or get back to an email contact while you drive.
What you can do is talk on a phone using a hands-free headset. You can also use your phone to:
- Call about a medical emergency, criminal activity, or another safety concern.
- Use a navigation system that operates using voice-activated software.
Emergency medical workers, police officers, and others can use a cell phone as required for their job, though.
You could get fined for failing to follow these texting and driving laws. Expect to pay $50 for a first offense, $100 for a second offense, and $250 for third and subsequent offenses. If you have to go to court, you may need to pay court fees, too.
And there’s a good reason why these rules and fines exist.
Texting might seem like it only takes a second. But in those few seconds, it takes to type a message to a friend, you’ll have gone the length of a football field with your eyes off the road. That’s a long way.
Distraction increases your crash risk in measurable ways. The Nevada Department of Transportation (DOT) breaks down the dangers:
- Reading a text or other types of reading makes you 3.4 times more likely to crash.
- Dialing a phone makes you 2.8 times more likely to crash.
- Reaching for a phone or other immobile object makes you 1.4 times more likely to crash.
And the results can be deadly. The NHTSA says that 3,142 people were killed in accidents with distracted drivers in 2020.
Nevada drivers are also more likely to kill or injure a bicyclist or pedestrian when driving while distracted.
Driving Under the Influence
A lot of things changed in 2020. The coronavirus pandemic brought a lockdown, social changes and at the same time, agencies reported that drunk driving rates went up. Between 2019 and 2020, the number of people who died from drunk driving accidents went up by 14%.
That’s a serious increase. Many families felt the impact of drunk and impaired driving crashes in recent years. But impaired driving was a dangerous problem before 2020 and has continued to be.
In Nevada, impaired driving is the biggest cause of fatal accidents.
Data from the years 2015 to 2019 shows that drunk or drugged driving caused 43% of all fatal accidents in the state. That’s 683 people killed by impaired driving in just four years.
This is why Nevada’s impaired driving laws are crucial and come with such steep penalties.
You could get a DUI charge from driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. Remember that you can score this high BAC level after just a few drinks.
Plus, you could get a DUI if you’re otherwise behind the wheel under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
A first-time DUI is usually a misdemeanor. You may also have to pay between $400 and $1,000 in fines and spend anywhere from two days to six months in jail. A DUI conviction often means attending online driving school and a victim impact panel.
On top of all that, you could have a 185-day license suspension and need to install an ignition interlock device. This device won’t let you start your car unless you have an acceptable BAC level.
Generally speaking, any more DUIs you get will come with harsher penalties. A second DUI can mean a one-year license suspension, and a third DUI can be charged as a felony.
Yes, you should follow the posted speed limits when you drive. But there’s more to Nevada speeding laws than that.
Generally, you should drive at a reasonable and proper speed. That means you should think about other factors beyond posted speeds when you drive. For instance, if the weather is bad and the road is slick, lower your speed. If you’re in bad traffic, don’t accelerate to the maximum speed limit only to brake within ten feet.
Also, excessive speeding comes with a whole other class of penalties. If you drive more than 30 mph over the speed limit, this is a misdemeanor offense. You could even face fines up to $1,000 and time in jail, but this level of penalty is rare.
Move Over Laws
Many states have what’s known as “Move Over” laws. Nevada’s Move Over law is intended to protect people in emergency vehicles or other vehicles stopped on the shoulder of the road, including Nevada Department of Transportation vehicles. The law states that drivers approaching a pulled-over vehicle or another traffic incident should slow down and avoid driving in the lane immediately next to the traffic incident, if possible. Drivers who break this Move Over law could face misdemeanor charges.
Driving a Car in Nevada: The Best Drives in the State
Driving in the desert. It’s as iconic as the movies.
Nevada’s classic Western landscape ranges from stunning sandstone rock formations to open desert plains. By car, you can see it all.
Check out some of the best drives in Nevada below. Be warned that some of them can come with certain dangers, though. Read on to find out everything you need to know.
Valley of Fire Road
A Nevada scenic byway, drivers can explore the geologic wonders of Valley of Fire State Park along Valley of Fire Highway. Snaking on an east-west route between I-15 and NV-167, travelers coming from Las Vegas can access the highway in less than an hour.
While the highway is just 11 miles long, you’ll adventure through a range of striking terrain. Starting in the west at I-15, you’ll drive the two-lane road through open desert and begin to take a curvaceous route towards the Muddy Mountains.
Experience the sights of the park’s sculpted red sandstone rock formations. Atlatl Rock, Arch Rock, Rainbow Rock, and Elephant Rock, Piano Rock are all accessible sights from Valley of Fire Road.
White Domes Road, another scenic byway, intersects with Valley of Fire Highway on a north-south route. White Domes offers drivers another remarkable six-mile stretch of sights through the middle of Valley of Fire State Park. Visitors can explore rock arches, petroglyphs, and canyons on trails and overlook sites off of this roadway.
Great Basin Scenic Byway
Taking Nevada Route 93, this scenic byway starts in Las Vegas and heads north all the way to Great Basin National Park. You can travel as far as 585 miles on this route, which passes through portions of Valley of Fire State Park, Cathedral Gorge State Park, and finally, Great Basin National Park.
Experience slot canyons, red rock formations, and eventually, bristlecone-pine studded mountains. At Great Basin National Park, you can also take several auto tours to go even deeper into the park’s wonders. Check out Wheeler Peak Scenic Drive for a mountain road along the South Snake Range, which reveals vistas of the Great Basin desert.
U.S. Highway 50
Also known as the Loneliest Road in America, this route passes across the entire country from California to Maryland. About 500 miles of the road snakes through Nevada, offering broad expanses of wide-open desert.
The namesake, the Loneliest Road in America, was dubbed by Life magazine in 1986, but travelers since have enjoyed far more sights than empty desert. Adventurous drivers can explore old mining communities, ghost towns, and Sagebrush saloons. Find natural wonders like Lake Tahoe and mountain foothills, too.
While the Loneliest Road in America may not be the desolate treachery to avoid as Life magazine once characterized it, you should know that there are long stretches without cell service of gas stations about 250 miles of it. And this is the desert, of course.
If you take on a Highway 50 adventure, plan ahead. Fuel up in advance and have bottled water in the car in the unfortunate case that you need to seek vehicle service.
Las Vegas Strip
Maybe you’ve been to Las Vegas before. But try driving it on a slow roll at night. You’ll be checking out America’s only designated “Nighttime Scenic Byway.”
Not that it’s going to be too dark. Las Vegas is considered the brightest place on the planet, with millions of lights competing for visitors’ eyes.
See the famous landmarks of the strip like The Paris Hotel Eiffel Tower, the High Roller Ferris wheel, the Stratosphere Tower, Caesar’s Palace, and more. At just five miles long, you’ll have plenty to explore for hours.
State Road 375 – Extraterrestrial Highway
Here’s a unique driving route theme: Alien sightings.
State Road 375 passes the fabled Area 51, a classified government U.S. Air Force Base where many unexplained sightings have been reported.
Whether you’re traveling for serious UFO investigations or want to experience a taste of alien culture, like alien beers at the Little A’Le’Inn, this route reveals another side of the Nevada desert.
You can take the drive as a point-to-point route that begins in Alamo and ends in Tonopah just over 100 miles. Or you can drive a loop on SR 375 from Las Vegas. Find directions from Travel Nevada.
Driving a Car in Nevada: Auto Insurance
Buying a car is likely more exciting than buying insurance. But you’ve got to have insurance coverage if you own a vehicle. Nevada law requires it.
Here are the state’s minimum coverage requirements:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage
And if you’ve ever been in an accident, here’s what you might be thinking next:
That’s not a whole lot of insurance coverage.
You’d be right. Again, that’s what the state considers minimum required coverage, though.
If you’ve never been in an accident before, you may not know what kinds of costs or medical expenses are involved. $25,000 might even sound like a lot.
Here’s something that many drivers may not realize: Medical bills after a crash and other costs can be staggering. So, it pays to prepare for the possibility of an accident.
You might want to think about investing in additional types of insurance coverage beyond these minimums.
Full auto coverage often includes collision and comprehensive coverage. Collision helps you get reimbursed for your own car’s damage after a crash. Comprehensive allows you to have insurance for any other property damage other than an accident, like if a tree falls on your car during a storm.
But there are other coverages you should also think about adding, too.
First, going beyond the minimum bodily injury and property damage liability coverages can prove invaluable. After all, if you’re found liable for an accident and the other driver gets seriously hurt, you could be on the hook for the difference between what your insurance will cover and the driver’s total medical bills.
In other words, if the other driver has $60,000 in treatment costs but your insurance only covers $25,000, they could file a lawsuit for the remaining $35,000 in addition to any other losses they try to claim.
Also, think about another scenario. Uninsured and underinsured drivers. It’s not uncommon that people are on the road without insurance or less coverage than you may need if you get hurt in a crash. Buying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can help you anticipate and prepare for the worst case. So, you could be reimbursed for your medical bills, lost wages, and even your pain and suffering if you’re hit by a driver without insurance.
Common Insurance Questions
Insurance can seem overly complicated. With all the fine print involved, how do you know if you’re getting a good plan?
We offer our answers to some of the most common insurance questions below.
Do I Have to Deal With the Insurance Company After a Crash?
Not really, no. An attorney from De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers can help you with just about all of the communication involved in a claim or a lawsuit. That means preparing your demand letter, answering phone calls, negotiating, and settling the claim.
If you get into a crash, you’ll need to report the accident to your insurer but the conversation can (and should) be brief.
How Do I Find a Trustworthy Insurance Agency and a Good Plan?
You’ll start to realize something surprising when you start looking at auto insurance providers and policies:
The cost of the same plan varies widely from provider to provider
You might call up Geico and get a certain number for minimum coverage. Then, Progressive will give you a totally different figure for the same plan.
The good news about that situation is that you have lots of options to choose from.
So, shop around. There are plenty of insurance providers out there, after all. Just make sure that they’re licensed in Nevada. Use the tool from the Nevada Division of Insurance to verify.
Also, if you call an insurance company or review their policies online, get a sense of their customer service. It’s good to know if you’ll be working with a company known for fulfilling claims smoothly or not. Check out the Consumer Insurance Search tool from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) to see if the company received complaints.
Driving a Car in Nevada: Safety First
Driving may seem like a simple task, and most people do it without thinking about it. But the truth is: Driving is dangerous. Still, that doesn’t mean you can’t take steps to protect yourself. Whether you’ve been in an accident or you want to know how to avoid one, consider these tips to stay safe. (Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles)
Our lives often demand multitasking, but driving isn’t the time to do so. Resist the temptation to do other things while driving. This includes eating, applying makeup, using electronics, managing pets or children in a backseat, searching for items, and other distractions.
If you need to take a call or eat, take the time to pull over in a safe place. Take care of these tasks before continuing on the road.
Store Your Phone if Necessary
A bright screen can be irresistible.
If you have your phone out while driving, you might find your eyes drawn to incoming texts or calls. But as we mentioned before, just reading a text can increase your chances of a crash.
For that reason, you may want to put the phone away while driving.
Ask a Passenger to Control Music or Maps
You don’t have to drive and play deejay and navigator simultaneously. If you have a passenger, allow them to help you adjust a route on your GPS or change the music.
Commit to Focusing on Driving
Tell yourself that all you’re going to do is drive. Commit to focusing solely on crucial driving tasks scanning for hazards, keeping a safe following distance, checking your mirrors, or maintaining a safe speed. As basic as these things are, giving them your sole attention can make the difference between seeing and not seeing crash hazards and other dangers.
Use Seat Belts Correctly
Make sure to strap in securely. Use a seat belt as it was designed for maximum safety protection.
Adults should buckle up with the belt over the top of the shoulder and across the chest. Never pull a belt under the arm. If your belt is sitting uncomfortably close to the neck, use a booster cushion to sit in a safe position with the belt across the chest.
Children should only sit in an age- and height-appropriate booster or child seat. As mentioned, be sure to fit a child based on the manufacturer’s instructions and NHTSA guidelines.
Keep an Eye Out for Bicyclists and Pedestrians
Bikes and pedestrians are completely vulnerable during a crash with a car. But these devastating accidents don’t have to happen. Practice these safety tips:
- Passing distance. Nevada law says that drivers must give cyclists at least three feet of clearance distance when passing. If a cyclist is occupying a full lane or part of a lane, pull into the next lane to pass, if possible.
- Don’t park or drive in bike lanes. Bike lanes are intended for cyclists only. Unless you need to stop for an emergency, don’t occupy these lanes.
- Yield at intersections. If a cyclist or pedestrian is in an intersection, yield the right of way. But whether you see a cyclist or a pedestrian approaching an intersection, come to a complete stop at a stop sign or red light.
Reduce the Chance of a Lane Departure
Most drivers might not guess that this is a leading cause of fatal accidents. Here’s why.
If you start to veer off the road, most people react by overcorrecting their steering. The sudden turn of the wheels on loose gravel or at the top of a sloped ditch can cause the car to flip.
Veering into another lane can be just as deadly, especially on a two-lane road. You could face a head-on collision with oncoming traffic.
Drivers in rural areas and those driving on weekends between 3 a.m. and 6 a.m. tend to be most at risk. Be aware of your risk if you’re in one of these groups. Should you find yourself veering off the pavement, you can avoid overcorrecting by:
- Remaining calm
- Reducing pressure on the accelerator
- Avoiding hitting the brakes unless you’re about to crash into an object
- Keeping the vehicle as parallel to the road as possible as you gently bring the car back onto the pavement
- Signaling as you merge back into traffic
Avoid Driving Drowsy
It can be tough to tell when you’re too tired to drive. That’s why it’s best to avoid it altogether if you’re unsure. For those who can do so, wait to drive until you get the sleep you need.
Otherwise, if you’re feeling less than fully energized, a few strategies can help you remain as alert as possible. Try pulling over in a safe place to take a 20-minute nap.
You may also want to try drinking strong coffee. Two cups are recommended.
A word of caution: Some common strategies aren’t as effective as some drivers may think. Keeping the windows down or turning up the tunes doesn’t help improve your drowsiness.
Use Safe Strategies When Driving Near Large Trucks
Commercial trucks are massive and they have big blind spots, make wide turns, and have long stopping distances.
Remember these unique factors when you drive around trucks. Give extra space when trucks turn. When you’re changing lanes in front of a truck, leave plenty of distance between you and their vehicle.
Also, don’t drive in a truck’s blind spot. Take a look at the truck driver’s mirrors. If you can’t see their face, chances are good that they can’t see you. (Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA))
Modify Your Driving Based on Conditions
When the rain comes, get ready to be safe.
- Slow down. Wet roads mean longer stopping distances and the higher your speed, the more distance it takes to stop. So, drive slowly when road conditions are slick.
- Be aware of poor visibility. Stormy weather could bring dark skies, fog, and limited visibility. Take extra caution when approaching intersections, turning into driveways, or changing lanes.
Car Accidents in Nevada: Breaking Down the Numbers
Nationally, we see two million people injured in car accidents every year. And over 32,000 deaths. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) When you look at the numbers, you realize: Accidents aren’t just accidents.
In Nevada, certain driver behaviors tend to lead to crashes or fatal crashes like drinking and driving or not wearing a seatbelt.
But as tragic as that is, it’s useful to know. After all, it means you can take steps to protect yourself. Read on to find out more about what the car accident numbers in Nevada really mean.
Nevada Crash Statistics
In Nevada, fatal crash statistics paint a picture of why the worst accidents happen. From data collected between 2015 and 2019, we can see that around 300 to 330 fatal accidents happened each year. (Nevada Office of Traffic Safety)
We can also see these factors caused fatal crashes:
- 42.7% were caused by impaired drivers.
- 37.1% involved lane departures.
- 32.1% were speeding-related.
- 32% happened at intersections.
- 23.6% involved pedestrians.
- 21.5% were tied to inadequate protection, such as lack of safety belt use.
The stats can break down even more from there.
Speeding-related crashes happen most often on weekends not, as you might think, during the Monday morning commute. With lane-departure crashes, you see a similar story. Saturdays and Sundays bring a 2-3% jump in fatal crash rates of this type.
Impaired driving crashes, once again, tend to happen mostly on weekends. But these crashes also happen most often at a particular time of day: between 9 PM and 11:59 PM.
In Las Vegas, it’s clear that accidents are a significant problem in the city, too. Over 22,000 crashes are reported yearly on average.
What Our Las Vegas Accident Lawyers Can Do for You After a Crash
Sometimes accidents happen even if you prepare to avoid them. Our team can fight for you.
We have the experience to go after the best results for you through an insurance claim or lawsuit. We can handle all the details of your case for you so that you can focus on your rest and recovery.
Our Las Vegas personal injury lawyer can:
- Investigate your case and prove who was liable
- Show how you were harmed by the accident financially and non-financially
- Gather evidence to prove how the accident resulted in your injuries
- Work with all third parties in the case on your behalf
- Negotiate a fair settlement
- Speak with the insurance companies for you
- Take your case to trial if the insurance company won’t make a fair offer
From start to finish of your case, we’ll stand by you and give you the guidance you need. When you’re suffering after a crash, let our team protect your right to seek fair compensation.
What Happens if I Get in a Car Accident?
It’s hard to know what to expect of a car accident if you’ve never been in one.
You should know that certain types of behaviors cause crashes, and certain injuries are more common than others. And you should learn how to prevent an accident if you can.
But if life happens, know that you can get help. Our Las Vegas Personal Injury attorneys can handle all the legal to-dos for you.
How Accidents Happen
Anyone who’s been in a crash knows: Car accidents can seem to happen out of nowhere.
But a few common factors can make them more likely to happen. Knowing what tends to cause crashes can help you avoid the worst-case scenario.
- Speeding: Driving too fast based on posted speed limits or weather conditions regularly makes the list of the top causes of fatal accidents (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)). That’s because speeding increases a crash’s severity. (U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT)) Plus, a speeding driver might not see a merging car entering the highway or someone crossing the road.
- Alcohol use: Drunk drivers may think they can do it, but they can’t. Driving while impaired means driving poorly. Vision, reaction time, and judgment all get worse after drinking.
- Inattentive or distracted driving: Incoming texts. Taking a quick bite of a sandwich. Thinking about a recent argument. All of these things can take a driver’s hands off the wheel and mind off of driving which can easily cause a crash.
Types of Collisions
A few typical factors lead to accidents, and crashes happen in a few typical ways.
- Frontal collisions: It’s a rare situation that causes a frontal collision. Drivers falling asleep on a two-lane road may strike oncoming traffic. An elder driver may not see a highway sign and enter the highway on the wrong side, facing traffic. Still, though they happen less often than other crash types, they’re often serious and even fatal.
- Rear-end accidents: A car could be stopped at a red light when the driver behind them fails to brake in time, or a driver could fail to leave a safe stopping distance between them and the car in front of them. These crashes might seem minor, but they commonly lead to whiplash and other injuries. (Mayo Clinic)
- Sideswipes: This is the deadliest type of crash. (National Safety Council (NSC)) Sideswipes happen when two cars are moving beside each other in the same direction. Failures to merge or improper lane changes can cause these crashes.
- T-bone: These crashes happen when one car hits another at a 90-degree angle. Intersections are a prime location for t-bone crashes.
There’s no one reason why each of these accidents happens. Still, you can avoid many accident situations by practicing safe following distances, avoiding driving in other vehicles’ blind spots, and driving attentively.
Car crashes can wreak havoc on the body as you may know all too well.
Even if you weren’t in a catastrophic accident, you could be feeling serious physical challenges. Here are the most common injuries victims face:
- Whiplash: This one can be hard to detect right after a crash. You may not feel symptoms until days later. But if you have neck or upper back pain, you could have strained neck ligaments. In other words, you could have whiplash.
- Concussions and traumatic brain injuries (TBI): The head is vulnerable during a crash. Victims could hit the windshield, the window beside them, or even strike an object outside if they are thrown from the car. A milder TBI (or a concussion) may leave you with a headache or confusion, among other symptoms. But a serious TBI could impact everything from your cognitive skills to your mood and physical coordination.
- Back and neck injuries: The body could bend forward or twist during a crash, which can mean damage to the neck and back. You might have a herniated or ruptured disc. Back injuries can make it hard to get up and move around or even do your normal job. In the most serious case, you could face spinal cord injury and even paralysis.
- Internal bleeding: You might feel pain from inside your stomach or another area, yet see no major harm on your body from the outside. This could be a sign of internal bleeding. Be sure to get checked if you feel pain inexplicably. Internal bleeding can quickly turn into more serious complications.
- Bruising: You might not think much of it initially, but these injuries can be painful. You could face bruising on the chest or stomach from a seat belt or even on the face after hitting an airbag or other part of the car.
- Broken bones: Whether your arm was crushed against the door or you fracture your ribs on the seatbelt, breaking and fracturing bones happens often. With a broken bone, you could have a hard time getting around and doing normal activities.
And that’s just the beginning. We didn’t talk about the treatment process for these injuries or their costs.
A traumatic brain injury can require emergency surgery and years of physical and rehabilitative therapy. Back injuries may require chiropractic care and ongoing pain medication. Spinal cord injuries can entail major and sometimes expensive changes to the way you live your entire life.
Our Las Vegas injury lawyers know the physical, financial, and emotional toll accidents can take on victims. That’s why we’re here to help.
What a Nevada Car Accident Lawyer Can Do to Help
You may not know what to do after a crash. But our attorneys do.
That’s one of the biggest reasons to work with a lawyer. You could be in serious pain from injuries to the point where you can’t work. You could be seeing medical bills pile up and have limited income to pay them down.
During all the confusion, you can hand over your legal challenges to someone from our team. A lawyer from De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers can:
- Talk to the insurance companies and other lawyers for you
- Be an investigator and gather the evidence needed to make your case
- Show that the other driver was at fault
- Represent your best interests during settlement negotiations or at trial
- Go after the maximum dollar amount available in your case
- Handle all the paperwork and red tape for you
- Interpret the legalese so you never feel in the dark
But we get it. You may not know if hiring a lawyer is worth it.
After all, you might think that you can represent yourself. You may already have a file of evidence related to your case, like receipts or medical bills. You might feel confident on your own.
It’s not wrong to go it alone. But here’s one question to think about: If the insurance adjuster makes you an offer, how will you know it’s a good one?
Here’s another reason to work with a lawyer.
Even if you receive a settlement offer from an insurance company without hiring a lawyer, you may not be getting what you deserve and you may not know it, either. Our attorneys regularly help people who face lowball offers or denied claims. But when we take on their case, the insurance company realizes that they have to make a better offer.
Insurance companies are businesses. They protect their bottom lines and often make low initial offers to car accident victims who need the cash and accept it. They may not realize they’ve walked away from thousands of dollars they deserved based on the facts of their case.
Again, our attorneys can tell you when you’re being shorted and take our evidence to the negotiating table to prove it.
So, what happens if you were injured in a crash? What should you do first to protect your right to a financial recovery? Find out more about the step-by-step process you should follow to maximize your case’s value.
Injured in a Car Accident: What Do I Do?
A million things are running through your mind after a crash.
At the scene, you’re likely worried about your car, your health, and how to ensure that the accident gets reported fairly. In the days and weeks after, you’re thinking about the bills piling up. The missed paychecks that can’t cover the bills.
We get it. And that’s why we offer crash victims the checklist below. Take these steps at the scene of the accident and in the weeks to come.
Remember, what you say and do could affect your chances of recovering the compensation you deserve.
Call Police and Report the Crash
It doesn’t matter if you feel fine or if the car seems like it just had some minor dings from impact. Report the accident.
Here’s the kicker: If you don’t report the crash to the police or your insurance company, it’s almost as if it never happened.
So, let’s say you were stopped at a red light. Suddenly, the car jolts forward. You realize it: Someone hit you from behind. Maybe it doesn’t look like too much damage, though, and you’re rushing to get to an event. You don’t report the accident to the police and forget about it all.
If you start to feel any symptoms of injury in the next few days say, from a delayed onset of whiplash symptoms then you may not be able to seek compensation from the other driver. After all, there’s no record of the accident.
Always call the police to make an incident report. Then, time will tell if the report will come in handy for a personal injury case.
Get Medical Attention Immediately
If you’re hurt, your medical treatment is the top priority.
Car accidents can cause both visible and invisible injuries. So, if you’re only seeing a few bruises and scrapes but feel internal pain, that could be a sign of something more serious. Whether your injuries seem mild or major, go to an emergency room or see a doctor as soon as possible.
And just as with a police report, getting medical documentation of your injuries is crucial for legal reasons, too.
Think of it this way:
If you don’t get medical care and decide to wait and see if your pain will clear up, the injuries could steadily get worse. Maybe what seemed like a little back pain turned out to be a herniated disc. But if you don’t see a doctor for your symptoms until a few weeks after the crash, it may be too late.
An insurer can then argue that your back injury wasn’t related to the car accident at all. They could claim that you had pre-existing back problems or you hurt your back lifting boxes at your job.
Even if you’re not sure whether you’re seriously hurt or not, it bears repeating: Get medical attention immediately.
Be an Investigator at the Scene
Assuming that you’re physically well enough to do so, be your own investigator after the crash.
- Take photos or video of the crash site, including any damage to both/all cars involved.
- Get shots of any tread marks on the pavement, damaged objects outside, or accident debris.
- Exchange contact information with the other driver, including driver’s license information, registration, and insurance details.
- Take down the names and contact details of any eyewitnesses who could provide testimony about the crash.
Err on the side of recording more information rather than less. All of it can be useful if you bring a personal injury case later on.
Don’t Accept the First Settlement Offer
Well, we should revise that statement. Don’t accept the first settlement offer without getting a case review from a law firm. Here’s why.
Let’s say you get offered $12,000 just a week after a crash with a commercial driver. You got emergency room care just to rule out major injuries. You had some back pain, so you needed some pain meds and missed about a week from work just to rest, per your doctor’s orders. But it’s not so bad that you can’t live your normal life.
You sign the settlement agreement, take the $12,000, and go back to work.
Let’s say that in the week to follow. You start feeling more serious back pain. You realize that you actually have a ruptured disc and it was likely related to the accident.
Now, you can’t go back and ask for more money.
So, let’s rewind. Say that you spoke with a lawyer’s team before accepting the $12K.
You explained the situation, said that you had back pain, and asked for advice.
A law firm would likely say this: Wait and see.
Wait and see how your injuries progress, if there are any changes to your symptoms, and if you may need more treatment soon.
Remember: Any additional medical care you need will come out of your pocket if it wasn’t built into your settlement offer. That’s why it’s best to get a case review before you sign or accept anything.
Keep Getting Medical Care Per Doctors’ Orders
You’ve already seen a doctor or gone to the emergency room. They prescribed medications, recommended physical therapy, or referred you to a specialist for additional treatment.
Whatever it is, do what your doctor says.
If you don’t, it’s yet another way an insurance company could challenge your case for compensation. They could argue that you made your injuries unnecessarily worse by neglecting your treatment. On these grounds, they could deny or lowball your case.
Don’t give the adjuster or other party’s lawyers any wiggle room here.
Plus, it’s best for your health to get all the treatment you need. Even if you start to feel better from the initial treatment and think you can discontinue certain medications or skip physical therapy, avoid the temptation to do so.
Get a Case Review From an Auto Accident Lawyer in Nevada’s Team
As we said earlier, getting a free case review from a lawyer’s team is one of the best things you could do.
That’s because you may not know what you don’t know. Someone from De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers can listen to your situation and explain your options for the next steps. We can help you understand how to navigate early settlement offers. We can tell you what kinds of damages you could recover. And we can get started on your case immediately if you want to work together.
Of course, there’s no obligation. It’s just a free evaluation that can give you the clarity you need to move forward with your life after a crash.
Car Accident Resulting in Death: What Do I Do?
Losing a loved one suddenly can upend your life. On top of the grief you’re facing, you’re dealing with bills. Maybe major bills and missed paychecks your loved one can no longer provide for your family.
You deserve help with it all. This is not a time to face the hardships and the complicated legal processes alone. Think about your options for getting assistance, including a lawyer’s help.
Resources and Support Groups for Surviving Family Members
Reach out to one of these networks for the community and support you need.
- Fatal Crash Support Group: Run by Crash Support Network, this is a Facebook group for people who lost loved ones to a car accident. Find resources, support, and advice from others who’ve felt the pain of a sudden loss.
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD): The organization advocates for strong laws to reduce fatal crashes involving drunk drivers. It’s also a place where surviving family members can get support after losing a loved one in a drunk driving crash. You can call 1-877-MADD-HELP anytime, 24 hours a day, to get emotional support, advice, and referrals for help.
- Grief Share: Through Grief Share, you can connect with a local support group and find an in-person community with those affected by a sudden loss.
Steps to Take
In the aftermath of the accident and the loss of your loved one, you may not know what to do next. However, you can do a few simple things to protect yourself and your family’s rights.
- Be wary of calls from insurance companies. It doesn’t happen in every situation. But sometimes, insurance adjusters contact a surviving family member to discuss their case. They may try to get information from you and determine if you’d be willing to accept a certain settlement amount and often, this settlement offer is lower than you deserve. Don’t take this first offer without getting a legal case review.
- Hang onto relevant evidence. Hang onto any medical bills or records for your loved one’s care. If you’re facing costs related to your loved one’s accident and their passing, keep these to pass on to your lawyer. You could receive compensation for many of these expenses.
- Take advantage of a free case review. Our team offers free consultations. This is a chance to ask all of your questions, share your story, and get a listening ear. We’ll explain what legal options you might have, what damages could be available, and how we can help.
On a more personal level, remember that you could get help with essential tasks. You’re likely facing pressure to deal with many tasks while trying to cope. Don’t be afraid to ask for help with basic household necessities, like grocery shopping or laundry. Let friends know that this is one way they can support you through this time.
How De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers Can Help
So much is happening at once including paperwork, red tape, and money issues. You may want a law firm’s help to navigate it all. You may have questions about who is liable for your loved one’s passing and how to seek justice.
Our team at De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers can handle all these legal challenges for you so you can focus on what matters most at this time.
- Listen to your story and offer our guidance
- Explain your legal options in clear terms, including whether an insurance claim or lawsuit is appropriate
- Determine who could be responsible for your loved one’s loss
- Gather evidence of the other party’s negligence and liability
- Speak with everyone involved in the case on your behalf
- Seek the best possible outcome for you and your family
As a family-based law firm, we will serve your family with compassionate care. You deserve to feel like your case is in good hands. Our attorneys not only know how to get results, but we also know how to take care of our clients. We make sure you understand everything that’s going on in your case, get your questions answered, and speak for your best interests from start to finish of the case.
Frequently Asked Questions: Nevada Car Accidents
After a car accident, you’ve got questions. And we’re here to give you all the answers.
Here’s what you should know.
How Do Most Car Accidents Happen?
There’s no one reason why car accidents happen. But the majority of crashes happen because of reckless driver actions, like speeding, inattentive or distracted driving, and alcohol use. Lane departure accidents are also high on the list.
What Percentage of Drivers Get in Accidents?
Between 2015 and 2019, the NDOT counted 146,751 crashes in the state or roughly 29,350 crashes each year. While the population of Nevada grew in those five years, the average number of residents was 2.884 million people. (U.S. Census Bureau)
So, that means roughly one percent of residents get into crashes every year, or 1 in every 100 people. While that number may seem low, keep in mind that these crash numbers don’t include unreported accidents, such as parking lot crashes.
What Is Contributory Negligence in Accident Law?
Contributory negligence is something of a harsh law. It says that a driver who shared fault for a crash can’t recover any compensation after the accident.
Thankfully, NRS § 41.141 is more flexible. Our state uses a modified comparative negligence standard. It means that you can still collect compensation if you share some fault for a crash but your payout might be reduced based on your level of fault.
How Many Car Accidents Occur in Nevada Each Year?
As mentioned, Nevada sees roughly 29,350 crashes per year. This average number was calculated based on crash rates over five years, between 2015 and 2019.
How Many Deaths Occur Each Year? How Many Are Not Wearing a Seatbelt or Are Under Influence?
In 2019, there were 285 fatal accidents. Of these:
- 21.5% involved occupants who were not wearing a seatbelt
- 42.7% involved impaired drivers
What Is the Average Payout for a Car Accident?
According to the III, the average payout for bodily injury claims is $20,235. For property damage, claimants received $4,711 on average.
What Type of Auto Insurance Should I Have?
The state requires that you purchase basic levels of insurance, which includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or (fatal injury) per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury (or fatal injury) for two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage liability
However, you may want to think about purchasing optional coverages, like uninsured/underinsured motorist, collision, or comprehensive coverage.
Where Do Most Car Accidents Happen?
Geographically, the highest percentage of fatal crashes happened in Clark County, according to numbers from 2015 to 2019.
- 69% of accidents happened on urban roads
- 32% happened at intersections
Will a Car Accident Impact My Car Insurance? What if I Am Not at Fault?
Often, drivers will see their insurance rates go up after they cause an accident. However, many factors go into determining your future insurance rates. Plus, you likely wouldn’t see an increase overnight.
If you weren’t at fault based on the police report, you may not see an increase.
Can a Car Accident Cause PTSD?
Yes, a car accident can put you at risk of developing post-traumatic stress disorder. A car accident is a traumatic event, and some victims go on to face difficult psychological symptoms, like flashbacks.
What Should I Do at the Scene of a Car Accident?
The most important thing to do is to get medical attention for your injuries. Then, call the police to report the crash and exchange insurance information with the other driver.If you can, take photos of the accident scene. Get shots of both vehicles’ damage. Finally, collect contact information from any eyewitnesses.
How and Who to Report a Car Accident to?
You should make two calls about the car accident.
First, call the local police to make a crash report. Second, call your insurance company to make a brief report that the accident happened. Just stick to the basic facts on this call: Where, when, and what damage you notice.
How Do Bad Weather Conditions Cause Car Accidents?
During bad weather, many elements can be less than ideal for drivers.
- Your tires could lose traction with the road on slick or icy surfaces, leading to a spinout.
- Your visibility could be limited due to fog or rain, making it hard to see the lanes, other drivers, and traffic signs.
- If other drivers don’t adjust their speed during bad weather, you could be more at risk of a crash.
What if I Get in an Accident With a Rented Car?
Most people don’t want to get in an accident. Especially not with a rental.
However, if you do, call the rental car company to report the crash. Then, you could use any elected insurance policy you purchased with the rental car to cover the damages.
What if I Get in an Accident With a Taxi or Rideshare Company?
After an accident with an Uber, Lyft, or a taxi company, you could have legal options.
Report the crash if you’re in an Uber or Lyft ride by using the crash report tool in the rideshare app. If you’re driving at the time of the crash, take all the steps at the scene of an accident as described previously. Both Uber and Lyft carry liability insurance policies, so you could seek compensation through that route.
What if I Get into an Accident With a Bus or Public Transit Vehicle?
Because bus drivers or public transit vehicle drivers are employees, you could file a claim or lawsuit against the company or government entity that employs them. You may be able to get a payout from the liability policy of the employer.
What if I Get into an Accident With a Commercial Vehicle?
You have similar options after a commercial vehicle accident. If the driver is an employee, the employer’s insurance policy could be liable. However, if the driver is a contractor, you may need to file an insurance claim or lawsuit through the driver’s personal auto policy.
What Does “Comparative Negligence” Mean When Determining Who Is Liable for a Traffic Accident?
Comparative negligence means that you could collect compensation after a crash even if you’re partially at fault. However, your total payout could get reduced based on your percentage of fault.
What Should I Do if I Am Involved in an Accident With Someone on a Motorcycle?
After a crash involving a motorcyclist, follow all the normal steps at the scene: report the accident to police, exchange contact information, and get medical care.
The motorcyclist may be deemed liable for your accident and injuries. You could file a claim or lawsuit to seek compensation if they are at fault.
If I Am in a Car Accident, Should I Call the Police?
After a car accident, you have to call the police in virtually all cases. NRS § 484E.020 states that you should report accidents involving property damage, injury, or fatal injury.
If I Get Into an Accident in My Car, Should I Hire a Car Accident Attorney?
It can be greatly beneficial to hire a car accident attorney. A lawyer from our team can handle every aspect of your case while you heal and recover. We can explain your best steps forward and seek the best possible settlement or court award available in your case.
Hire a Car Accident Lawyer in Nevada
Our team at De Castroverde Accident & Injury Lawyers knows how to go after the results you need. If you were in a crash or lost a loved one, we’re here for you.
Our attorneys understand just how much an accident can affect your life. And we’re here to seek the justice and the payout you need. We have a 5-star rating on Google Reviews, and our clients are consistently satisfied not only with our service but also with the compensation they receive in their cases.
Contact us today for your free consultation. The sooner you contact our team, the sooner we can start protecting your rights to a fair recovery.
During your free call, we’ll listen to your story and help you navigate your way forward so you can get back to what matters most in your life. We’re happy to assist you in English or Español.