It is illegal in the state of Nevada to sell, supply, dispense, exchange, barter, or give away narcotics or controlled substances. This means that a person can be charged with a drug offense if they sell drugs or offer to sell drugs. Drug sale charges are often made after a defendant attempts to sell drugs to an undercover officer or when a concealed officer witnesses the defendant make a hand-to-hand drug sale. If you are charged with selling drugs, don’t wait to contact a skilled Las Vegas drug sale attorney of De Castroverde Law Group for experienced defense.

Penalties for Selling Drugs

Sentencing for the sale of drugs in Nevada is dependent upon the Drug Schedule of the narcotic involved in the offense (there are separate laws regarding the sale of marijuana, however) and whether the defendant has prior convictions for drug offenses.

Penalties for Sale of Schedule I or II Drugs
A first offense of selling Schedule I or II drugs is a Category B Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 1 to 6 years
  • A fine of up to $20,000

A second offense of selling Schedule I or II drugs is a Category B Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 2 to 10 years
  • A fine of up to $20,000

A third offense of selling Schedule I or II drugs is a Category B Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 3 to 15 years
  • A fine of up to $20,000

Penalties for Sale of Schedule III, IV, or V Drugs
A first offense of selling Schedule III, IV, or V drugs is a Category C Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 1 to 5 years
  • A fine of up to $10,000

A second offense of selling Schedule III, IV, or V drugs is a Category B Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 2 to 10 years
  • A fine of up to $20,000

A third or subsequent offense of selling Schedule III, IV, or V drugs is a Category B Felony and is punishable by:

  • Incarceration in state prison for 3 to 15 years
  • A fine of up to $20,000

Increased Penalties for Sales Near Minors
The penalties for drug sales are typically doubled, according to NRS 453.3345, if the crime occurred in any of the following locations:

  • On the grounds or within 1,000 feet of a school, public park, playground, public swimming pool, video arcade, or recreational center
  • On a Nevada System of Higher Education campus or within 1,000 feet of a campus
  • Within 1,000 feet of a school bus stop, from 1 hour before classes begin until one hour after classes end on school days

Arrested for selling drugs in Las Vegas?

De Castroverde Law Group is proud to provide our clients with outstanding defense representation against all types of criminal charges. We have defended countless clients against drug sale charges and can advocate on your behalf before the courts. If you are accused of selling drugs, it is crucial that you obtain the counsel of an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to ensure that your rights are protected. Conviction could have severe implications upon your freedom, relationships, and future; with so much at stake, don’t risk your case in the hands of an overworked public defender.

Our team is dedicated to providing our clients with the attentive and comprehensive legal counsel they deserve. We build detailed defenses for our clients and seek to have their charges and penalties reduced, regardless of the allegations made against them. If you have been charged with selling drugs, what are you waiting for? Contact a Las Vegas drug sale attorney at De Castroverde Law Group today to enlist the strong defense you need!